Who We Are

As a congregation of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) we are enriched by the Reformed Protestant tradition that for centuries has reached around the world in ministry, service and outreach in the name of Jesus Christ. We are led by a session of six ruling elders and our moderator, the Rev. Keith Grogg.

Our members come from Asheville, Black Mountain, Fairview, Montreat, Swannanoa and elsewhere, with many who have residences in other parts of the country and some who are connected to us from other parts of the world. We have the traditional active, affiliate and baptized rolls of the Presbyterian Church, and with the unique circumstances of our congregation, we also have rolls of “supporting members,” “member clergy” and “supporting clergy.” No matter what your circumstances may be, Montreat Presbyterian Church has a place for you! 

Would you like to share your information with us? You can fill out a prospective membership information form by clicking here.

The Reverend Keith Grogg

Ruling Elders
Clerk of Session:
Jane Alexander

Assistant Clerk:
Mason Blake

Class of 2019

Steve Hansel
Mary Jo Wright

Class of 2020
Jane Alexander
Everett Culpepper

Class of 2021
Beth Fountain
Mason Blake

Keith Grogg

Christian Education:
Mason Blake, Chair

Grace Nichols, Coordinator

Congregational Care:
Beth Fountain, Chair

Evangelism & Membership:
Judy Shuford, Chair

Grace Nichols, Chair

Human Resources:
Steve Hansel, Chair

Mission & Outreach:
Eric Nichols, Chair

Earth Ministry Subcommittee:
Hal Demarest, Convener

Finance & Property:
Everett Culpepper, Chair

Gill Campbell

Worship & Music:
Betsy Kirschner, Chair

Women’s Circle:
Jane Alexander